Categories
Uncategorized

EK Gerdin- Miosga, 2020

This is the next instalment in our lockdown digital exhibitions. We interviewed EK Gerdin-Miosga as part of our proposal to offer insight into how practising artists were coping with these unprecedented times. She has provided us with a window into her current practice and inspiration.

1- Who are you? Introduce yourself
I am EK Gerdin-Miosga, a mixed media artist focussing on video installation, painting and textiles. At the moment my art work is a selection of mixed media images and photorealisim. The work looks into the moments of my life which seemed irrelevant but on reflection realising the power of which those insignificant moments now have on my life.

2- What is your artistic practice?- What drove you to work as you are now? How has this been impacted by lockdown restrictions and the pandemic?

I am currently working as an art facilitator in a neurology rehabilitation home and run my own art department. At first it was extremely hard and scary for everyone however you slowly get used to this new way of life. During the pandemic creativity within the home has soared from staff art competitions to resident online exhibitions. The residents drive me and inspire me on a daily basis. Art is a way for them to relieve stress, boredom and give them a vocation, something which was taken away from them due to accidents.

At the moment I am working on a series of portraits which is a selection of mixed media images and photorealism. My work looks into the moments of my life which seemed irrelevant but on reflection realising the power of which those insignificant moments now have on my life. My chosen process is working from unstaged photographs using the mediums such as collage and painting.

3- What are you currently working on? (virtual exhibitions, creative movements, collaborative projects, maintaining production of work)

I work at night on my own work and due to the online presence of exhibitions within the art world, I feel this has given much more of an opportunity for “unknown” artists. I am currently involved ‘Digital Touch’ exhibition archives linked with ‘conscious isolation’. I am also currently co-curating an online exhibition ‘Renewed Awareness’ and have hadmany intriguing submissions which I am really looking forward to begin putting together with my team at Better Together Artists.

4- What is next? – How, if at all, has this pandemic inspired further progression?

The pandemic has given me confidence in my work as well as a new sense of strength. I think working in a care home during the pandemic, I now have no fear. I know that my job is to inspire vulnerable people as well as staff even during extremely unforeseen tough circumstances, I now make art which I enjoy doing and is personal to me and if people like it that is a plus but I have stopped people pleasing as an artist.

5- Where can we find you? Extra projects you are working on, social media, website, exhibitions you will be in, etc.

I am a co-founder of a global artist platform Better Together Artists. The art world is tough to break into and after graduating a lot of the art world involves money and who you know. That’s when visual artists Sonya Lee, Mary Waltham and I wanted to make a change, a platform for artists open to all globally to give artists a platform to exhibit online and hopefully in brick and mortar galleries in the future. The exhibitions will open on the same day in each country all over the world to create unity and community which we need so much right now. We have just launched the online exhibition ‘Renewed awareness’ and now focussing on coming up with a new brief for our next collaborativeexhibition for the end of this year.

www.ekgerdinmiosga.com 

insta: @ekgerdinmiosga

www.bettertogetherartists.net

Leave a comment